البناء الأروع على طراز الفن الحديث في بروكسل

Culture

بروكسل بشكلٍ عام هي عاصمة الفن الحديث. ويمنحكم التمشي في وسط المدينة درساً في تاريخ العمارة التي حافظت على روعة المباني المشيّدة على طراز الفن الحديث من أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وحتى بداية القرن العشرين جنباً إلى جنب مع المباني القوطية التاريخية. استكشفوا المباني المذهلة المبنية على طراز الفن الحديث في بروكسل واكتشفوا أعمال فيكتور هورتا، الراعي البلجيكي للفن الحديث، وكذلك منازل أصحاب المواهب ذوي الشهرة مثل بول كاوشي وبول سانتينوي.

فندق تاسيل

يُعَّد فندق تاسيل أول مبنى شيّد في العالم على طراز الفن الحديث. وقد بناه المعماري فيكتور هورتا عام 1893، وهو منزل (خلافاً لما يوحي اسمه بأنه فندق) أدرجته منظمة اليونسكو كأحد مواقع التراث العالمي، وصُمم ليكون منزلاً لإميل تاسيل العالم والبروفيسور البلجيكي. يتميز المبنى بتصميم رائد تخلى عن التقاليد السائدة في عصره واتجه لاستخدام المواد الحديثة مثل الحديد والزجاج. وله واجهة خارجية حجرية مميزة بنوافذ كبيرة مقوسة مشربية تكسو الجزء الداخلي المدهش، والجزء الأساسي به هو درج كبير يمتد حلزونياً لأعلى بارتفاع المنزل الريفي. ومع أنه لا يُسمح للزوار بحرّية التجوّل داخل المبنى، إلا أنه يستحق المرور به لمشاهدة واجهته الخارجية الأخاذة.

منزل سولفاي

منزل سولفاي هو أثر آخر من مواقع التراث العالمي التابعة لليونسكو، ويُعد أحد أكثر الأعمال الطموحة لنفس الفنان، فيكتور هورتا. فبعد أن قُدِّمت لهورتا ميزانية غير محدودة وأُتيحت له حرية الإبداع لتصميم منزل لقُطب العلوم أرماند سولفاي، استغل الفرصة لدفع حدود الفن الحديث. واستطاع من خلال الاستعانة بالهياكل المعدنية التي توجد عادةً في الإنشاءات الصناعية أن يخلق تصميماً مبدعاً يتدفق الضوء الطبيعي من خلاله عبر لوحات الزجاج الموضوعة ببراعة. يمكن لعشاق الفن المعماري الاستمتاع بجولة داخل المبنى للنظر عن قُرب إلى أعمال هورتا، وتتضمن الجدران المطلية المذهلة والتصاميم المحددة الرائعة التي تتدفق من بينها جميع جوانب الديكور الداخلي، من أرضيات الفسيفساء حتى الأثاث المخصَّص.

متحف هورتا

تعرّفوا على طريقة تفكير هورتا من خلال جولةٍ إلى منزله والاستوديو الخاص به، أي متحف هورتا. بُني المنزل بين عامي 1898 و1901 ويعد مثالاً نموذجياً لتصميم الفن الحديث، مع تصاميم داخلية رائعة تتميز بكم كبير من أشكال الفسيفساء، وديكورات الحيطان، والزجاج الملوَّن - التي حُوفظ على أغلبها. افتُتِح متحف هورتا عام 1969 ومنذ ذلك الوقت وهو يستقبل الزوار لأخذ جولة في المبنى والتعرّف أكثر على فن العمارة في معرضها البعيد النظر في الفن الحديث.

بوزار

استكملوا جولتكم لاستكشاف أعمال هورتا في بروكسل بالذهاب في جولة إلى مركز بوزار للفنون الجميلة، وهو متحف مدهش بناه هورتا عام 1928. وبينما يختلف المبنى عن تصاميم القصور المعتادة في الحجم والعظمة إلا أنه لا يزال يحتفظ بأجواء الفن الحديث. يحتوي المتحف، الذي جُدِّد حديثاً ليقدم المظهر الأصلي للمعماري، على أماكن للعرض، وقاعات للاحتفال، ومسارح.

فيلا إمباين

تعد فيلا إمباين التي صممها وبناها المعماري السويسري مايكل بولوك في الثلاثينيات من القرن الماضي مثالاً رائعاً للآرت ديكو المصمَّم على الطريقة المترفة. فبعد تكليفه من البارون لويس إمباين، استخدم بولوك المواد الأعلى جودة والتفاصيل الأكثر تكلفةً لتشييد منزل رائع يدوم لعصور من حيث البنية والمظهر. الفيلا التي استعادت مجدها السابق هي الآن مقر لمؤسسة بوغوسيان وفنانيها في برامج الإقامة التي تدعو الفنانين من جميع المجالات لتمضية الوقت في المنزل لشحذ حرفتهم. الفيلا مفتوحة للزوار ويقود المرشدون الجولات فيها يومياً باستثناء يوم الاثنين.

دار كاوشي

دار كاوشي هي أحد المباني الأجمل المشيّدة على طراز الفن الحديث في بروكسل، وبناها المعماري والفنان بول كاوشي عام 1905. بينما تمتاز الواجهة الخارجية للمنزل بالفن الحديث المميز، إلا أنه يمكن الشعور بيد كاوشي الفنية بقوة في جميع أنحائه، خاصةً في ديكور الجدران المصمَّم بالكتابات المعقَّدة. وكما هي الحال في منزل كل فنان، نجد الجدران مغطاة برسومات الفن الحديث الشهيرة - وهي من المعالم المميزة للزائرين. لا تفتح الدار أبوابها للجمهور إلا في العطلة الأسبوعية الأولى من كل شهر، لذا فمن الضروري إجراء الحجز مسبقاً.

متحف الآلات الموسيقية

أُنشئ متحف الآلات الموسيقية أو "mim" عام 1899 بتصميم المعماري بول سانتينوي. كان المبنى الواقع في مونتاني دي لا كور متجراً كبيراً قديماً أُعيد تصميمه ليستضيف إحدى التشكيلات الأكبر من الآلات الموسيقية في العالم. وسواءً كنتم مهتمين بالموسيقى أو لا، فإن المكان يستحق الزيارة لتصميمه المعماري المذهل على طراز الفن الحديث، الذي يمكن الاستمتاع بنوافذه المُطلّة من مطعم السطح. يتمتع المطعم، الذي يُدخل إليه من مدخل مستقل عن المتحف، بإطلالات على المدينة لا يمكن مضاهاتها - وهي طريقة رائعة لإنهاء اليوم في بروكسل بانطباعات لا تُنسى.

واصلوا مغامرتكم المعمارية في فندق أميغو التاريخي الذي بُني عام 1957 في موقع سجن سابق.

Share this post

x

Culture

The Most Beautiful Art Nouveau Architecture in Brussels

Brussels is commonly considered the capital of Art Nouveau. A walk through the city centre offers a history lesson in architecture as beautifully preserved Art Nouveau buildings from the late 19th to early 20th centuries stand shoulder-to-shoulder with historical Gothic structures. Explore the incredible Art Nouveau buildings in Brussels and discover the works of Victor Horta, the Belgian patron of Art Nouveau, as well as the homes of notable talents such as Paul Cauchie and Paul Saintenoy. 

Hôtel Tassel

Hôtel Tassel is widely considered the world’s first Art Nouveau building. Built by architect Victor Horta in 1893, the UNESCO World Heritage house (which, contrary to the name, isn’t a hotel) was designed as a home for Belgian scientist and professor Emile Tassel. The building features a trendsetting design that abandoned the traditions of the time for modern materials like iron and glass. A distinctive stone exterior with large curved bay windows encases a stunning interior, the centrepiece of which is a grand staircase that spirals up through the tall townhouse. While visitors can’t freely venture inside, it’s worth passing by to see the building’s striking exterior.

The Solvay House

The Solvay House, another UNESCO World Heritage Monument, is one of the most ambitious works by the same architect, Victor Horta. After being given a bottomless budget and creative freedom to design a home for science magnate Armand Solvay, Horta used the opportunity to push the boundaries of Art Nouveau. By manipulating metal framing usually found in industrial structures, he was able to create an innovative layout wherein natural light flooded through cleverly placed glass panels. Architecture enthusiasts can enjoy a tour of the building to get a closer look at Horta’s work, which includes spectacular painted walls and beautiful motifs that flow between all aspects of the interior décor, from the mosaic floors to the custom furniture.

Horta Museum

Get inside Horta’s head with a trip to his home and studio, the Horta Museum. The house was built between 1898 and 1901 and is a typical example of Art Nouveau design, with beautiful interiors that heavily feature mosaics, wall decorations and stained glass – most of which has been preserved. The Horta Museum opened in 1969 and has since invited visitors to take a tour of the building and learn about the architect at its insightful Art Nouveau exhibition.

BOZAR

Complete your tour of Horta’s Brussels with a trip to BOZAR Centre for Fine Arts, an impressive museum built by Horta in 1928. While differing from his usual mansion designs in size and grandeur, the building still maintains a discernable air of Art Nouveau. Recently renovated to the architect’s original appearance, the museum houses art exhibition spaces, concert halls and theatres. 

Villa Empain

Designed and built in the 1930s by Swiss architect Michel Polok, Villa Empain is a beautiful example of Art Deco done the luxury way. After being commissioned by Baron Louis Empain, Polok used the highest quality materials and most expensive details to construct a beautiful home which would last the ages, visually and physically. Recently restored to its former glory, the villa is now home of the Boghossian Foundation and its artist in residence programme which invites artists from all fields to spend time at house to work on their craft. Villa Empain is open to visitors and guides lead tours every day except Monday.

Cauchie House

One of the most beautiful Art Nouveau buildings in Brussels, Cauchie House was built by architect and artist Paul Cauchie in 1905. While the exterior is distinctly Art Nouveau, Cauchie’s artistic hand is felt strongly throughout, particularly in the intricate graffito wall décor. As is only natural in an artist’s house, the walls are covered with famous Art Nouveau paintings – a highlight for visitors. The house is only open to the public on the first weekend of each month, so advance planning is essential.

Musical Instruments Museum

The Musical Instruments Museum, or the ‘mim’, was built in 1899 to a design by architect Paul Saintenoy. Located on the Montagne de la Cour, the building was an ancient department store redesigned as a museum to house one of the largest collections of musical instruments in the world. Whether you’re interested in music or not, it’s worth a visit for its striking Art Nouveau architecture, which can be admired from the rooftop restaurant. Accessible independently from the museum, the restaurant also has unbeatable views over the city – a striking way to bring a day in Brussels to a memorable close.

Continue your architectural adventure at the historic Hotel Amigo, which was built in 1957 on the site of a former prison.

Image credits: Brussels architecture © iStock/Hindenberg, iStock/Alison Cornford, iStock/possum1961.