فن حياكة الطرطان الاسكتلندي

Culture

الطرطان هو القماش الأكثر شهرة في اسكتلندا. ويُعد اللباس الأصلي لعشائر المحاربين الاسكتلنديين، وتحكي نقوشها حكايات التراث والأسلاف. فالنقش المربّع هو الرمز الذي تشتهر به اسكتلندا وله تاريخ طويل ومسجّل يعود إلى عدة عقود مضت. ومع كشف فندق بالمورال عن زيّه الجديد المصنوع من الطرطان، المصمّم بالتعاون مع شركة "كِلنوخ آندرسون"، نلقي نظرةً على فن صناعة الطرطان الاسكتلندي واكتشاف المغزى وراء استخدام الفندق لهذا النوع تحديداً من القماش.

نشأة لباس الهضاب

مثلما كان نبلاء العصور الوسطى يُعرفون بشارات أسرهم، كانت العشائر الاسكتلندية تتميز بقماش الطرطان. وكانت كل قبيلة تبتكر نمطها الفريد الذي يميزها، وتُلف قطعة القماش حول الخصر مثل التنورة ثم تتدلّى بقيّة القطعة من فوق الكتف. وأصبح لهذا القماش أهمية خاصة دفعت الحكومة إلى حظر ارتدائه لعدّة عقود في محاولةٍ منها لإخضاع العشائر لسيطرتها. لكن العكس هو ما حدث، فبعد إلغاء قانون الملابس عام 1782 تحوّل الطرطان من مجرد الزي التقليدي للهضاب ليصبح الزي الوطني الرمزي لاسكتلندا. ولا يزال الطرطان يُلبس حتى يومنا هذا، خصوصاً في المناسبات الهامّة مثل الأحداث الرياضية الوطنية وحفلات الزفاف والاحتفالات الثقافية، مثل الرقصات الغيلية (ceilidhs). يبرز ظهور القماش الشهير في جميع أنحاء فندق بالمورال، الذي يتميز بتصميمه الفريد، كما كانت الحال عند العشائر الاسكتلندية الأصلية.

الطرطان في فندق بالمورال

يقع فندق بالمورال في قلب مدينة إدنبرة ، وهو فندق كبير قريب من السكك الحديدية يجسّد التقاليد الاسكتلندية في كل شيء، من المأكولات التي تقدّمها المطاعم إلى زيّ الطرطان الذي يرتديه فريق الاستقبال في الفندق الأمامي وسفراء المشروب في حانة السكوتش. يتميّز زي الطرطان الذي يرتديه فريق الاستقبال في الفندق بتصميمه المخصص والمُسمّى "طرطان فندق بالمورال في إدنبرة"، وقد امتدّ ابتكاره على مدى 18 شهراً بالتعاون مع خبراء الطرطان المحليين في شركة "كِلنوخ آندرسون". وقد استوحيَ اللونان الأزرق والأخضر في قماش الطرطان الجديد من المناظر الطبيعية في إدنبرة واسكتلندا. يجمع هذا التصميم المعاصر بين خيوط مغزولة بألوان الخلَنج والطحالب والأجمات وقشر الليمون والحسّون الأخضر والأحمر المعدني لتعكس المناظر الخلابة للمعالم بما في ذلك تلّة "أرثرز سيت" والمدينة القديمة وحدائق شارع الأمراء، التي يمكن رؤيتها من الفندق.

ولمَن يرغبون في معرفة معلومات أكثر عن الطرطان، فإنّ وصيف الطرطان في فندق بالمورال، آندي فرايزر، يدعو الضيوف إلى اكتشاف هذا الفن من خلال رحلات يومية منظمة ومخصصة حسب رغباتهم. ويمكنه أيضاً تتبّع الطرطان الذي كان يرتديه أجداد الضيوف وترتيب التنانير لدى خياطين محليين يوصي بهم.

تسوُّق ملابس صمّمها الأسلاف

إنّ جميع تصميمات الطرطان الرسمية مدرجة في السجل الاسكتلندي للطرطان. وعند الخياطين والمتاجر المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء إدنبرة، يمكن للزوار شراء التصميمات الموجودة، أو طلب تصميماتهم الخاصة ثم تقديمها إلى السجل. تُعد شركة "كِلنوخ آندرسون" إحدى الشركات الرفيعة التي تخيط الطرطان في البلاد. ولا تزال هذه الشركة العائلية تصمم ملابس الطرطان منذ أكثر من 150 عاماً. في أزمانٍ ساد فيها استخدام قماش الطرطان لتصميم البزّات العسكرية، كان حامل التوكيل الملكي أحد الخياطين الأوائل الذين بدأوا في تصنيع ملابس الطرطان الجاهزة، مما أعان على تدرّج انتقال القماش إلى عالم الموضة، حيث أصبح عنصراً أساسياً في تصاميم بعض المصممين مثل فيفيان ويستوود. ويمكن لزوار إدنبرة الاطلاع على مجموعة شاملة من أثواب طرطان الهضاب وإكسسوارات التنانير بأنماط مختلفة لدى متجر "كِلنوخ آندرسون" في مدينة ليث.

درسٌ في خياطة الطرطان

لاكتشاف معلومات أكثر عن فن خياطة الطرطان القديم، تفضّلوا بزيارة مصنع الطرطان في إدنبرة. يقع المصنع في مبنى تاريخي كان يُستخدم في الماضي خزاناً للمدينة، ويزوّدها اليوم بنشاط حيوي آخر، ألا وهو الطرطان. تعرّفوا على الزي الوطني الاسكتلندي في جولة داخل المعرض، الذي يوضّح عملية الإنتاج الكاملة بدءاً بجزّ صوف الأغنام ونسجه بالمنوال إلى خياطة التنانير. في مكان آخر من إدنبرة، يدعو مركز "عشائر الطرطان" (Clan Tartan) الزوار لتفقد العديد من أنواع الطرطان، والتعرّف على تاريخ العشائر الاسكتلندية واكتشاف ارتباطهم الخاص بهذا الزيّ.

تفضّلوا بالإقامة في فندق بالمورال الفاخر والتاريخي لتتعرفوا على أفضل ما تقدّمه إدنبرة، من الطرطان الاسكتلندي إلى التراث الاسكتلندي.

Share this post

x

Culture

The Art of Scottish Tartan Weaving

Tartan is Scotland's most famous fabric. Originally the cloth of Scottish warrior clans, tartan patterns tell tales of heritage and ancestry. The checked fabric is a recognised symbol of Scotland and has a long and storied history that stretches back many centuries. As The Balmoral unveils its new tartan uniform, designed in partnership with Kinloch Anderson, we take a look at the art of Scottish tartan making and discover the meaning behind hotel’s bespoke fabric.

The Birth of Highland Dress

Just as medieval noblemen were recognised by their family crests, Scottish clans created signature tartans. Each tribe conceived a pattern unique to them, which was worn around the waist like a kilt and draped over the shoulder. The fabric became so significant that it was banned for a number of decades as the government attempted to bring the clans under their control. However, the opposite happened and following the repeal of the Dress Act in 1782, tartan went from being a Highland tradition to the symbolic national dress of Scotland. Tartan is still used to this day, especially at important events such as national sporting events, weddings and cultural celebrations such as ceilidhs (Gaelic dances). The famous fabric features prominently throughout The Balmoral, which, like the original Scottish clans, has it’s own unique design.

The Balmoral Hotel Tartan

Set in the heart of the Edinburgh, The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel that epitomises Scottish tradition in every way, from the cuisine served at the restaurants to the tartan uniforms worn by the front of house team and the Whisky Ambassadors at Scotch whisky bar. The tartan worn by the front of house team at the hotel is a bespoke design named ‘The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh Tartan’, which was created over 18 months in collaboration with local tartan experts Kinloch Anderson. The blue and green colours of the new tartan were inspired by the natural landscape of Edinburgh and Scotland. The contemporary design combines yarn in heather, moss, thicket, zest, greenfinch and rave hues to reflect the stunning views of landmarks including Arthur’s Seat, the Old Town and Princes Street Gardens, which can be seen from the hotel. 

For those interested in learning more about tartan, The Balmoral’s dedicated Tartan Butler Andy Fraser invites guests to explore the art through tailored, organised day trips. He can also source the tartan of a guest’s ancestors and arrange kilt fittings at recommended local tailors’.

Shopping for Ancestral Stripes

All official tartans are listed in the Scottish Register of Tartans. At tailors’ and shops across Edinburgh, visitors can buy existing designs or commission their own and submit it to the register. Kinloch Anderson is one of the finest tartan tailors in the country. The family-run company has been creating tartan clothing for over 150 years. In a time when tartan was predominantly used for military uniforms, the Royal Warrant holder was one of the first tailors to begin making tartan ready-to-wear, aiding the fabric’s progression into the fashion world, where it became a staple of designers such as Vivienne Westwood. Visitors to Edinburgh can browse an extensive selection of Highland Dress and kilt accessories in a range of styles at the Kinloch Anderson store in Leith.

A Lesson in Tartan

To discover more about the age-old art of tartan making, visit the Edinburgh Tartan Mill. Located in a historic building that was previously the city reservoir, the mill supplies another kind of lifeline to the city, tartan. Learn about the Scottish national dress with a tour of the exhibition, which demonstrates the entire production process from sheep sheering and loom weaving to kilt making. Elsewhere in Edinburgh, the Clan Tartan Centre invites visitors to browse the many varieties of tartan, learn about the history of Scottish clans and discover their own clan connection.

From Scottish tartan to Scottish heritage, stay at the prestigious, historic The Balmoral hotel to experience Edinburgh at its best.