Celebrate the Glittering Italian Takeover at Brown's Hotel this Christmas with Salvatore Calabrese's Iconic Cocktails

Food & Drink

Cet hiver, vivez la Dolce Vita comme si vous y étiez au Brown’s Hotel, qui propose une magnifique escale italienne. Passez les fêtes avec Salvatore Calabrese, grand spécialiste des cocktails, qui s’installe pour quelques semaines dans l’élégant Donovan Bar. Vous trouverez dans l’incroyable carte conçue pour l’occasion les Martini et les Negroni qui ont fait sa réputation, ainsi que des créations exclusives et personnalisées.

Salvatore est l’un des barmen les plus connus au monde, et ses cocktails élaborés avec passion sont devenus de véritables classiques au fil des décennies. Vous aurez l’occasion de déguster son célèbre Martini (créé pour le Dukes Hotel dans les années 1980), et notamment son fameux Breakfast Martini, qui associe la vivacité des agrumes à un soupçon de marmelade.

Ses Negroni, comme le Bello e Sbagliato (« la belle erreur »), sont des versions sophistiquées et créatives de la recette classique. « C’est un merveilleux cocktail », explique Salvatore.  « Très simple, il offre un côté à la fois tonique et légèrement amer, allié au pétillant du Prosecco. »

Que pense-t-il de cette escale italienne ? « Je suis ravi de revenir à Mayfair, et c’est un honneur de travailler dans un hôtel aussi emblématique que le Brown’s, fréquenté par les plus grands de ce monde. Pour moi, le Brown’s a toujours été l’un des endroits les plus extraordinaires de Londres. »

Salvatore a grandi sur la côte amalfitaine, et c’est à l’âge de 12 ans qu’il est pour la première fois passé derrière un bar pour servir un Coca-Cola. Sa passion pour les cocktails n’a jamais cessé de croître depuis lors. Au cours de ses 40 ans de carrière, il a créé des boissons pour les bars et les hôtels les plus prestigieux du monde, sans parler des plus grandes célébrités qu’il a servies. « J’ai eu la chance incroyable de rencontrer de nombreuses personnalités célèbres et influentes : Fidel Castro, Nelson Mandela, et des présidents des États-Unis de tous les partis. Sans oublier Arnold Schwarzenegger et Sylvester Stallone. Je pourrais écrire un livre sur toutes les célébrités que j’ai servies ! »

Quoi de mieux pour entamer 2018 que le cadre sublime du Donovan Bar, pour lever son verre à la nouvelle année avec une création de Salvatore Calabrese ?

Nous accueillerons également en résidence le célèbre Heinz Beck, chef de La Pergola, restaurant trois étoiles de Rome. Il proposera un menu élaboré spécialement pour les fêtes chez Ora, un restaurant italien éphémère qui prendra ses quartiers au Brown’s Hotel.

L’escale italienne se déroule au Brown’s Hotel pendant six semaines, à partir du 13 novembre 2017. Les réservations pour le bar se font par e-mail à thedonovanbar@roccofortehotels.com, et les réservations pour le restaurant à brownsrestaurant@roccofortehotels.com.

Share this post

x

Food & Drink

Glittering Italian Takeover at Brown's Hotel this Christmas

This winter, you can drink and dine La Dolce Vita at Brown’s Hotel with its incredible Italian takeover. Celebrate the season with mixologist, Salvatore Calabrese, who is taking up residence in the elegant Donovan Bar. His extraordinary Martini and Negroni menu includes some of his own greatest hits, as well as exclusive bespoke creations.

One of the world’s best-known bartenders, Salvatore’s lovingly crafted cocktails have endured as icons over the decades. You’ll have the opportunity to sip his renowned Martini (created for Dukes Hotel in the 1980s), and his signature Breakfast Martini, which is lent a citrusy kick with a soupcon of marmalade.

His Negronis are sophisticated and imaginative takes on the classic, like the Bello e Sbagliato (‘Beautiful Mistake’). “It’s a beautiful cocktail,” explains Salvatore.  “Simple, and it gives you a hint of bitterness and punchiness, and a spark of Prosecco.” 

How does he feel about the takeover? “I’m excited to come back to Mayfair, and what better place to start work than in an iconic hotel like Brown’s, which has truly seen everyone who’s anyone. For me, Brown’s has always been one of the most amazing places in London.”

Growing up on the Amalfi Coast, Salvatore poured his first drink – a Coca Cola – behind the bar at 12 years old. From there, his love of cocktails blossomed and his illustrious 40-year career saw him creating drinks for distinguished bars and hotels all over the world, not to mention A-list celebrities. “I’ve been fortunate enough to meet many famous and influential people: Fidel Castro, Nelson Mandela, Presidents of the United States left, right and centre. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, I could write a book about all people I’ve served.” 

What better way to ring in 2018 than in the sublime environs of the Donovan Bar, toasting the New Year with a Salvatore Calabrese creation?

Also in residence is esteemed chef, Heinz Beck, of three Michelin star, La Pergola in Rome. He will be serving a special menu at Ora, an Italian-inspired pop-up restaurant at Brown’s Hotel.

Brown’s Hotel’s Italian takeover runs for six weeks, from 13th November 2017. Bar booking is available at thedonovanbar@roccofortehotels.com and restaurant booking at brownsrestaurant@roccofortehotels.com

WHY BOOK DIRECT?

Exclusively yours when you Book direct

Create your personal My RF Account and book direct with RoccoForteHotels.com to receive:

  • Complimentary High-speed Wi-Fi
  • A complimentary seasonal food and beverage offer
  • Early Arrival and Late Check Out (Subject to Availability)
  • Early Exclusive Access to Promotions
  • Best Rates Guaranteed 

Best Rates Guaranteed also when booking through Rocco Forte Hotels preferred travel advisor in addition to their individual hotel program amenities and benefits.

My RF Account

TO BOOK MORE THAN 4 ROOMS PLEASE CONTACT THE HOTEL DIRECTLY

Make an enquiry Close

TO BOOK A TABLE FOR THIS PARTY SIZE PLEASE CONTACT THE RESTAURANT DIRECTLY

Make an enquiry Close